Amazing AnimeAnime ReviewFairy Tail

Fairy Tail – Anime Review

(Last Updated On: September 20, 2020)

Hey, guys welcome back to Animeindia.in. So Fairy Tail is undoubtedly one of my favorite anime, but I realized that I haven’t reviewed Fairy Tail yet for you guys, So today I will be reviewing Fairy Tail Anime. I have also read the manga and continuously following Fairy Tail 100 Years Quest as well, but we will discuss them some other day. And like Natsu “I’m All Fired Up!”.

Fairy Tail Anime Review

About Fairy Tail

Fairy Tail (stylized as FAIRY TAIL) is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Hiro Mashima. It was serialized in Kodansha’s Weekly Shōnen magazine from August 2006 to July 2017, with the individual chapters collected and published in 63 tankōbon volumes. The story follows the adventures of Natsu Dragneel, a member of the popular Fairy Tail mage guild, as he searches for the dragon Igneel in the fictional world of Earth-land.

The manga has been adapted into an anime series produced by A-1 Pictures, Dentsu Inc., Satelight, Bridge, and CloverWorks that aired in Japan on TV Tokyo from October 2009 to March 2013. A second series aired from April from 2014 to March 2016. A third and final series aired from October 2018 to September 2019. The series has also inspired numerous spin-off manga, including a prequel to Mashima, Fairy Tail Zero, and a sequel written by him titled Fairy Tail: 100 Years. Search. In addition, A-1 Pictures has developed nine original video animations and two animated feature films.

The manga series was originally licensed for an English language release in North America by Del Rey Manga, which began publishing the individual volumes in March 2008 and ended its license with the release of volume 12 in September 2010. In December, 2010, Kodansha USA took over the North American launch of the series. The Southeast Asian network Animax Asia aired an English version of the anime for seven seasons from 2010 to 2015. The manga was also licensed in the UK by Turnaround Publisher Services and in Australia by Penguin Books Australia. The anime is licensed by Funimation for an English release in North America. As of February 2020, Fairy Tail had 72 million copies in print.

Plot Of Fairy Tail

The world of Earth-land is home to numerous guilds where wizards apply their magic to paid job applications. Natsu Dragneel, a dragon slayer mage from the Fairy Tail guild, explores the Kingdom of Fiore in search of her missing adoptive father, the dragon Igneel. During his journey, he befriends a young celestial mage named Lucy Heartfilia and invites her to join Fairy Tail. Lucy teams up with Natsu and her feline companion Exceed, Happy, joined by other guild members: Gray Fullbuster, an ice wizard; Erza Scarlet, a magical knight; and Wendy Marvell and Carla, another duo of dragon hunters and Exceed.

The team embarks on numerous missions together, including subduing criminals, illegal dark guilds, and ancient Etherious demons created by Zeref, a cursed wizard with immortality and deadly power.

Next Part Of Plot Contains Spoiler

After various adventures, Natsu and his companions find Zeref living in isolation on Fairy Tail’s holy ground on Sirius Island, where he expresses his desire to die for the atrocities he has committed. A battle for Zeref ensues between Fairy Tail and the dark guild Grimoire Heart, attracting the attention of the evil black dragon Acnologia. Fairy Tail mages survive Acnologia’s assault when the spirit of their guild founder and Zeref’s estranged lover, Mavis Vermillion, casts the Fairy Sphere defensive spell that places them in seven years of suspended animation. Later, Fairy Tail wage war against the dark guild Etherious Tartaros, whose goal is to open a book believed to contain E.N.D., the ultimate demon of Zeref. When Acnologia returns to annihilate both guilds, Igneel, who is revealed to have sealed himself within Natsu, emerges to fight Acnologia, only to be killed in front of a defenseless Natsu, who sets off on a training journey to avenge Igneel.

After Natsu returns a year later, Fiore is invaded by the Alvarez Empire, a military nation ruled by Zeref, who intends to acquire Fairy Heart, a source of infinite magical power housed within Mavis’s equally cursed body preserved beneath the guild of Fairy Tail. While fighting Zeref, Natsu is informed of his own identity as Zeref’s younger brother and the true incarnation of E.N.D., whom Zeref resurrected as a demon with the intention of being killed by him. When Natsu fails to do so, Zeref absorbs Mavis’s Fairy Heart in an attempt to rewrite the current timeline with one in which he could avoid his own curse and Acnologia’s rise to power. After Natsu defeats Zeref to stop the drastic changes in history that his actions would create, Mavis lifts the curse from her and Zeref by reciprocating their love, which kills them both.

Meanwhile, Fairy Tail and her allies stop Acnologia within a space-time gap created by the use of Eclipse, Zeref’s time travel gate. However, Acnologia escapes as her disembodied spirit traps all the dragon hunters present within the rift to maintain her divine power. Lucy and the other wizards across the continent immobilize Acnologia’s body within Fairy Sphere, while Natsu accumulates the magic of the other dragon hunters and destroys the spirit of Acnologia, killing him and freeing the dragon hunters from captivity. The following year, Natsu and his team set out on a century-old guild mission, continuing their adventures together.

Overwhelming Aspects Of Fairy Tail

So starting with the animation of the Fairy Tail series, it is simple and easy-going. The animation of the funny scenes and action scenes both are equally good. As mentioned above the animation of the Fairy Tail series is done by 4 different animation studios namely A-1 Pictures, Satelight (#1–175), Bridge (#176–328), CloverWorks (#278–328). The animation of the series has remained consistent over the years and even improved a title bit. One such example of good and easy-going animation is when Gildarts shows Natsu difference in their powers.

The sense of family, friendship, love, and becoming strong to protect loved ones and weak are the core values of the Fairy Tail story. Fairy Tail focuses more on friends (guild members & allies) becoming a big family. Humor is an inseparable part of the anime series, most of the jokes are good and make the audience laugh. The anime is also full of some adult jokes and fan service scenes 🤩🤩.

The most redeeming quality of anime is its music and my god the music is so good that I don’t have any words to explain the music. The main theme of Fairy is my favorite of all anime. The music just makes you cry in the emotional scenes and fill you with pride and excitement in the action scenes. Name of the main them is 旅立ちの序曲 ~OVERTURE: FAIRY TAIL メインテーマ~ by Yasuharu Takanashi. Just stop reading and listen to the music above and then continue the article.

Underwhelming Aspects Of Fairy Tail

But everything is not perfect, and Fairy Tail anime is not an exception. The biggest flaw of the anime is by each going arc the enemies become allies ( Like, few episodes back I was trying to kill you, and now lets become friends 😂 ). Few characters like God Serena and Jellal are poorly written by Mashima, you just don’t understand what is wrong with them. Few things like Raven Tail are just wasted they could have added more the story. Not all Fairy Tail arcs as good as a few, some are just messy (I am trying my best to give no spoilers here). Mystogan leaves very soon, God Slayer Magic is not explained. Nothing about Acnologia’s backstory, his motivation, etc. And I am a hype killer the ending might dishearten you, it varies person to person.

Conclusion

Honestly, flaws are easily overcome by these good qualities of Fairy Tail. You should definitely see this anime. It is one of my favorite Anime and when I say Fairy Tail is good, it is great. Fairy Tail anime is infused with great animation, storyline, music, humor, values, and fanservice. What else you need?

Where can I watch Fairy Tail?

Fairy Tail Netflix

In India, Fairy Tail is only available on Netflix and only 2 seasons are available. For other countries, it is available on every big anime streaming service like Crunchyroll, Funimation, etc.

Let me know your thoughts in the comment section below. Did you watched anime or read the manga? Who do you think was the strongest villain?

Also check out other great stuff from Animeindia.in

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Also Check Out
product-image

Fairy Tail - Anime Review

8.1

Honestly, flaws are easily overcome by these good qualities of Fairy Tail. You should definitely see this anime. It is one of my favorite Anime and when I say Fairy Tail is good, it is great. Fairy Tail anime is infused with great animation, storyline, music, humor, values, and fanservice. What else you need?

Overwhelming Aspects
  • Good Animation
  • Amazing Characters & Story
  • Awesome Music
  • Humor & Fanservice
Underwhelming Aspects
  • Waste Of Some Charaters
  • Some Things Need Explaination
  • Fewer Details About Villains

What is your reaction?

Excited
0
Happy
0
In Love
0
Not Sure
0
Silly
0
Arjun Goyal
I love to watch anime, movies and read novels, mangas, webtoons. My first anime series was Bleach that's why favorite. Solo leveling is favorite webtoon and Dragon Rioting favorite manga.

    You may also like

    Subscribe
    Notify of
    guest
    0 Comments
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments